Thank You Indoor Plumbing

Posted: December 2, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I wanted to be thankful on Thanksgiving, but with Black Friday looming and napping to be done, I haven’t had a chance to get to blogging until today. What am I thankful for? A lot.

1. Indoor plumbing and heating – I went to my first deer camp the weekend before Thanksgiving.  The bonfire and a portable heater were the sources of warmth and the evenings reached below freezing. The toilet was a box with a lid and no walls surrounded by nothing but open forrest. The north wind was unpleasant to begin with, but add a 12 degree toilet seat… well, I think you get what I am saying. I don’t think my cheeks have thawed out yet.

2. Family – I love my family. My extended family is great, too. I even took a Hawkeye fan to a Husker game, and everything turned out okay.  Well, the Huskers lost, but it was still a good time.  You can’t beat family that you love around Thanksgiving.

3. My wife – Bless that poor woman’s soul. She loves me more than I deserve and puts up with more than she should, and I love her laugh and enjoyed a double-feature with her over the holiday. Home Front caused some anxiety and I got a loving talking to for bugging her during the movie.  She makes me smile.

4. Hollywood – I love movies. It is a great way to remove myself from the real world for a couple hours. I like explosions and action and explosions and car chases and explosions and well-timed humor surrounded by more explosions.

5. Gifts – I don’t mean getting gifts. I like the gifts we all possess. My writing, my wife’s crafty nature, my daughter’s athletic ability, another one’s cello expertise, and the positive energy of my youngest. “Mom, that was the best (insert food item) you have ever made.” We all have something that we are good at, a gift of some kind, and I love seeing those gifts put to good use.

We are all thankful for something or someone. Take time to ponder all those blessings you have in your life. Oh, and if anyone has access to a port-a-potty that I could borrow next November, let me know.

Leave a Reply

