Jason and Andrew, let’s hang out

Posted: March 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

  I am not sure which was worse, pretending I wasn’t worried about my skin cancer being the bad kind of cancer or grading essays for my school district.  Since the biopsy came back as benign, I am going to go with grading writing assessments.

  Sure, cancer is a horrible thing, but for those of you who haven’t read 100 essays about why PE should be required in school, don’t judge.  I love to see the growth of my students and their writing throughout the year, but I just don’t want to sit and grade it for fourteen hours over two days.

  I do enough grading of writing in my classroom all year.  But… I do it for the district, for the kids, for the country, and for God.  Okay, not sure God is really focused on writing assessments, but I know he wants me to do the best I can at my job.

  Speaking of God, I went to The Story Tellers Tour that came through Omaha.  It was Jason Gray and Andrew Peterson in a small little concert.  I am not really a concert kind of guy.  I love music, but I don’t really care for concerts.  This one was different, hence the name Story Tellers.  They spent a lot of time talking about the songs and joking around on stage.  I think I could hang out with those guys.  They were so real… and humble.

  So Jason and Andrew, if you read this, chris@chrisraabe.net and we can hang the next time you come through Omaha.  I am a not at all famous young adult novelist with a middle school teaching background and an imperfect life.

  Well, that’s it for now.  I need to grade 125 poetry projects in the near future.  Much better than essays.

Comments
  1. Vicki says:

    I’d rather grade the essays…

Leave a Reply

