Great Review from “I Blog, You Read”

Posted: April 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

This review means the world to me.  Celine, my reviewer, mentioned that this is a book she “will have the young men in my family read.”  This review is a homerun in my eyes.  Check out the full review here – I Blog, You Read Review.

I specifically targeted teenage boys, even though teen girls and adults love the book, as well.  I wrote this book for the reluctant boy readers that come through my classroom every year.  We just finished reading this novel in my own classroom, and I can tell you that my students were totally enthralled with the story.  Let me say, as an author, anxiety is front and center when you select a novel for your students to read.  If the novel isn’t good, middle school students will definitely let you know.  With this novel, the author (me) stood in front of them every day and listened to the comments about the book.  How rewarding it has been to hear the compliments and stories from boys who don’t read but stayed up past 1:00 in the morning to finish the book.  I am proud to say that my 125 students have enjoyed the story.  My fellow team of teachers have made comments about students who don’t read and are sneaking time in their classes to get a page or two further.

Favorite quotes from my students:

  • Mr. Raabe, I can’t picture you being famous.
  • Can you make this into a movie?
  • When is Dark Phenomenon coming out?
  • Can I buy a copy to read it again?
  • Mr. Raabe, I think I should play the role of Christian when you make the movie.

I have to say, I am feeling good about what I’ve written.  As a teacher, I’ve always wanted to get kids to read for enjoyment.  Mission accomplished.  Now, it’s time to get that second book revised so we can release it in October.  That’s right, fall release of “Dark Phenomenon”

Comments
  1. Vicki says:

    I’m wondering when the movie is coming out too? Or definitely a TV movie on the SyFy channel (Dan watches it all the time). It’s so cool to hear that your book entices non-readers to read. And I think it’s really special that you get to use your book in your classroom! Congrats…

Leave a Reply

